Confessions of a Calorie Whore

I’m a calorie whore – I take no shame in it!

If there is a way to shave 50 calories off of something, I’m here for it and I’ll do anything necessary to make it happen.

I spent some time this morning weighing bananas because it only takes one banana that is just a bit larger than usual to give you another 50 calories unknowingly.  I want to choose those extra 50 calories if I can.

I don’t keep a food journal.  I’ve done it in the past and it’s worked, but it triggers some OCD tendencies in me, so I think it’s best if I just track it a bit more organically.  I can tell you how many calories I’ve consumed during the day, and since I’m trying to stay in the 1500 range every day, it’s pretty consistent.  I may pull out my iPhone calculator and add them up throughout the day as I make decisions on what to eat and when, but beyond that, I try to let each day come and go without being too anal about writing it down.

But I am in a constant state of barter and trade with myself over what I’m consuming and if it’s calorie-worthy.  I try to stick with the 80/20 rule for eating healthy, and I refuse to deny myself anything as long as it fits within my calorie goal.  I love Krispy Kreme donuts, but I haven’t had one in months because I haven’t felt it was worth giving up something else during the day to have one (see my earlier peanut butter post).  However, if the time comes that I do, it will be fine, and maybe its just salad for dinner that night and keep moving. 

So yes, I am a calorie whore, but I also have to live.  That may mean I go out to dinner with friends and order what the hell I want and have 3 drinks to boot, but that is one meal on one night every once in a while.  Then I get up and go to the gym and eat as clean as a can to make up for it. 

As long as you plan and recover, weight loss does not have to be some kind of life prison term. 

Food is your friend, not your warden.

Now – Back to weighing fruit!

Leave a Reply

